Uniandes Basic Cycle - CBU - Courses

The courses forming part of the CBU have been especially designed for students of all careers, who begin their college education, and provide educational elements other than those from the basic and professional education of each career. The work performed therein includes reading, analysis and appreciation of primary sources, reference to bibliographic resources, incentivizing of critical discussion, and writing of essays by the students.

The CBU syllabus includes three areas of knowledge, namely, Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science and Technology. The courses that make it up are divided into two categories: Type A and Type B Courses. All Universidad de los Andes students must take a number of 18 credits represented in courses from the Uniandes Basic Cycle, distributed as follows: